As many of you know, I process life through writing poetry. Here are a few thoughts this Advent season.

Emmanuel Come

Love, Light, and Grace
Born into the world
Showing us God’s face
Love present to behold

His life lived fully free
Sinless, without stain
Radically dependent
Trusting God to reign

Stepping into pain
Seeing people lost
Calling out their glory
Giving life, knowing the cost

No change will come to bear
Unless His love is felt
Grace received and understood
Causes the hardest heart to melt

I sit in awe and wonder
Hope arising in my soul
As I consider how He loves me
And longs to make me whole

He takes the shattered pieces
Gently meets me in the pain
Molds and shapes me for His glory
Restores my life, removes all shame

His victory is present
His power full of might
His Spirit floods in mercy
He defeats the darkest night

Joy and peace, they beckon
To receive God’s full delight
Gives us courage to step forward
Calls us out to join the fight

